Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Global Health Policy and Systems Research - Researcher Led Funding Committee Member List


13 December 2021




Global Health Policy and Systems Research (HPSR) - Researcher Led Funding Committee


Professor Dame Anne Mills
Deputy Director and Provost, and Professor of Health Economics & Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Deputy Chairs

Professor Grace Irimu
Associate Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Nairobi

Professor K. Srinath Reddy
President of the Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI)

Funding Committee

Dr Mary Eyram Ashinyo
Deputy Director responsible for Quality Assurance, Ghana Health Service

Professor Julie Balen
Lecturer and Assistant Professor in Global Health, University of Sheffield

Dr Suraj Bhattarai
Research Fellow in Global Health And Nutrition, The Global Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies (GIIS)

Professor Tim Ensor
Professor of International Health Systems Research, University of Leeds

Dr Racha Fadlallah
Health Policy and Systems Researcher, American University of Beirut (AUB), Lebanon

Dr Meenakshi Gautham
Assistant Professor in Health Systems and Health Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Paula Griffiths
Professor of Population Health and lead of the Global Research Challenges in Health & Wellbeing, University of Loughborough

Dr Piya Hanvoravongchai
Lecturer on Health Economics and Health Systems, Chulalongkorn University

Professor Allan Hill 
Professor of Population and International Health within Social Statistics and Demography, University of Southampton

Dr Aku Kwamie 
Health Policy and Systems Researcher, Ghana Health Service

Dr Mylene Lagarde
Associate Professor of Health Economics, London School of Economics and Political Science

Professor Alastair Leyland 
Professor of Population Health Statistics and Associate Director of the MRC/CSO Social and Public Health Sciences Unit, University of Glasgow

Mr Abraham Mamela
CEO and founder of Infers Group

Professor Christopher Millett 
Professor of Public Health, Imperial College London
Visiting Professor, National School of Public Health, NOVA University Lisbon

Professor Tolib Mirzoev
Professor of Global Health Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Visiting Professor, Nuffield Centre for International Health and Development

Ms Noni Mumba
Head of Community Engagement, KEMRI Wellcome Trust

Dr Nino Paichadze
Assistant Professor of Global Health, Milken Institute School of Public Health, George Washington University

Dr Kumanan Rasanathan 
Health Systems Coordinator, WHO Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Professor Katherine Ann Reyes
Associate Dean for Research, University of the Philippines, Manila
Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Administration, University of the Philippines, Manila

Professor Dame Louise Robinson 
Regius Professor of Ageing, academic GP and Professor of Primary Care and Ageing, Newcastle University

Dr Prashanth Srinivas 
Fellow Health Equity Cluster, Institute of Public Health Bangaluru 

Professor Nikhil Tandon 
Professor in Endocrinology and Metabolism, All India Institute of Medical Sciences
Head of Capacity Building, Centre for Chronic Disease Control, New Delhi, India

Dr André van Rensburg 
Senior Researcher in the Centre for Rural Health, University of KwaZulu-Natal

Dr Andres Vecino-Ortiz
Health Economist, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Dr Francis Wafula
Senior Lecturer in Healthcare Management , Strathmore Business School