Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Evidence Synthesis Programme Advisory Group Members


06 April 2020




The Evidence Synthesis Programme Advisory Group (ESPAG) meets a maximum of twice a year for the purpose of advising the Programme Director on policy associated with the provision of support for the completion of systematic reviews, evidence synthesis and the future development for the NIHR-funded entities.

Current funded entities include: Cochrane UK and the Cochrane Review Groups. The ESPAG also seeks to ensure all programmes of work are of scientific quality, relevant to the NHS and show value for money through the management of annual reporting and monitoring.

Current members

Full Name

Job title and institution


Dr Phil Alderson

Clinical Advisor, National Institute of Health and Care Excellence

NICE Representative

Ms Sally Bailey


NIHR ESP/TAR Representative

Dr Andrew Booth

School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) University of Sheffield

Academic Advisor

Professor Martin Burton

Director, Cochrane UK

UK Cochrane Centre

Professor Jo Lord

SHTAC, University of Southampton

Academic Advisor

Dr Jo Morrison

Cochrane Gynaecological, Neuro-oncology and Orphan Cancers
1st Floor, Education Centre
Royal United Hospital
Combe Park
Bath BA1 3NG

CRG Representative

Dr Karla Soares-Weiser

Cochrane Editorial Unit, London

Editor in Chief, The Cochrane Library

Dr Ligia Teixeira

Chief Executive, Centre for Homelessness Impact

Social Care Representative

Mrs Alison Turner

Head of Evidence Analysis, The Strategy Unit - NHS Midlands and Lancashire Commissioning Support Unit

NHS Representative

Mr Malcolm Turner

Public Representative

Consumer Representative

Dr Vivian Welch

Campbell Collaboration

Editor in Chief, Campbell Collaboration

Professor Oliva Wu

University of Glasgow

NIHR CRSU Representative