Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HTA Programme Funding Committee (General) members


10 August 2022


1.3 August 2022



Professor Julia Brown - Director of Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Leeds

Deputy Chair

Professor Mark Peters - Professor of Paediatric Intensive Care, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health


  • Dr Ashley Agus - Health Economics, Nictu / Royal Hospitals Belfast
  • Professor Hashim Ahmed - Urology / Surgery, Imperial College – London
  • Associate Professor Laura Coates - Rheumatology, University of Oxford
  • Dr Janet Deane - Musculoskeletal Biodynamics and Rehabilitation Science, University of Manchester
  • Professor Jo Dumville - Professor of Applied Health Research, School of Health Sciences, University of Manchester
  • Professor Nick Francis - Professor of Primary Care Research, University of Southampton
  • Professor Caroline Free - Professor of Epidemiology and Primary Care, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Simon Gates - Professor of Biostatistics and Clinical Trials, Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences, University of Birmingham
  • Mr Dave Green - Public Committee Member, Kings College London
  • Professor Khalida Ismail - Psychiary, Kings College London
  • Professor Kerry Hood - Director of the Centre for Trials Research, College of Biomedical & Life Sciences, Cardiff University
  • Dr David Keene - Physiotherapy/Trauma Rehabilitation, Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Sciences, University of Oxford
  • Professor Asma Khalil - Professor of Maternal Fetal Medicine, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, St George's University of London
  • Mr Stuart McIntosh - Clinical Reader in Surgical Oncology, Queen's University Belfast
  • Dr Stephanie MacNeill - Statistics, University of Bristol
  • Dr Hema Mistry - Health Economics, University of Warwick
  • Mr Matthew Moore - Public committee member
  • Professor Craig Ramsay - Professor of Health Care Evaluation, Director of the Health Services Research Unit, University of Aberdeen
  • Asociate Professor Athanasios Saratzis - Vascular Surgery, University of Leicester
  • Dr Marta Soares - Health Economics, University of York
  • Professor Joanna Thompson Coon - Associate Professor in Evidence Synthesis, NIHR CLAHRC South West Peninsula
  • Dr Sara Twaddle - Former Director of Evidence, Healthcare Improvement Scotland
  • Associate Professor Dawn-Marie Walker - Health Sciences, University of Southampton