Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HTA Funding Committee Clinical Evaluation and Trials


27 June 2019


1.7 May 2022



Professor Olivia Wu - William R Lindsay Chair of Health Economics | Director of HEHTA | Director of NIHR Complex Reviews Support Unit, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, University of Glasgow

Deputy Chair

Professor Rakesh Heer, Senior Lecturer and Consultant Urological Surgeon, University of Newcastle upon Tyne


  • Mrs Jennifer Bostock - Public Committee Member
  • Associate Professor Kate Brown - Consultant Paediatric Intensive Care, Great Ormond Street Hospital and Hon Reader Institute Cardiovascular Science UCL
  • Dr Elizabeth Camacho - Senior Research Fellow in Health Economics, Manchester Centre for Health Economics, University of Manchester
  • Professor Charlotte Coles - NIHR Research Professor and Professor of Breast Cancer Clinical Oncology, Honorary Consultant in Clinical Oncology, Cambridge Breast Cancer Research Unit
  • Dr Claudia Cooper, Professor of Psychiatry of Older Age, Division of Psychiatry, University College London
  • Dr Sam Creavin, General Practitioner & Academic Clinical Lecturer, University of Bristol
  • Professor Alun Davies - Professor of Vascular Surgery and Honorary Consultant, Department of Surgery & Cancer, Imperial College London
  • Dr Munya Dimairo, Senior Research Fellow in Medical Statistics, Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Jon Dorling - Consultant Neonatologist, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
  • Mrs Hannah de Merode - Public Committee Member
  • Dr Francesca Fiorentino - Senior Lecturer in Clinical Statistics, Nightingale-Saunders Clinical Trials & Epidemiology Unit, King's College London
  • Associate Professor Paul French - Associate Professor, Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust, Manchester Metropolitan University 
  • Dr Katie Gillies - Reader, Health Services Research Unit, University of Aberdeen
  • Mrs Joanne Haviland - Principal Statistician, Clinical Trials and Statistics Unit, The Institute of Cancer Research
  • Professor Daniel Hind - Assistant Director, Sheffield Clinical Trials Research Unit / Reader in Complex Interventions, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield
  • Professor Sally Hopewell - Senior Trialist, Oxford Clinical Trials Research Unit, University of Oxford
  • Dr Pamela Jacobsen - Lecturer in Clinical Psychology, Department of Psychology, Bath Centre for Mindfulness and Compassion, Addiction and Mental Health Group (AIM), University of Bath
  • Professor Rebecca Kearney - Associate Professor (Clinical), Trauma and Orthopaedic Rehabilitation, University of Warwick
  • Professor Gavin Perkins - Director, Warwick Clinical Trials Unit, University of Warwick
  • Professor Thomas Pinkney - George Drexler & Royal College of Surgeons Chair of Surgical Trials, University of Birmingham Honorary Consultant Colorectal Surgeon, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS FT
  • Dr Elena Pizzo - Senior Research Associate, Department of Applied Health Research, University College London
  • Professor Jonathan Rees - Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Science, Nuffield Dept of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Science, University of Oxford
  • Dr Nigel Rees - Head of Research & Innovation, Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust (WAST), Institute of Life Sciences, Swansea University
  • Dr Gurdeep Sagoo - Lecturer in Health Economics, University of Leeds
  • Professor Kapil Sayal - Professor of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Developmental Psychiatry, Division of Psychiatry & Applied Psychology, University of Nottingham
  • Dr Elizabeth Warburton - Consultant in Stroke Medicine, Department of Clinical Neurosciences, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Addenbrookes Hospital)
  • Professor James Wason - Professor of Biostatistics, Institute of Health and Society, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle University
  • Professor David Weller - James Mackenzie Professor of General Practice / Programme Co-Director (Master of Family Medicine), Usher Institute, College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, The University of Edinburgh
  • Ms Beth Woods - Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York