Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

PHR Programme Funding Committee members


27 June 2019


3.0 June 2022


The PHR Funding Committee plays an important role in assessing proposals and identifying topics for research based on their scientific quality, feasibility, and value for money.

Programme Director

Professor Brian Ferguson - Director, NIHR Public Health Research Programme

Programme Chair

Professor Peymane Adab - Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham (Committee Chair)


  • Dr Lorna Aucott - Senior Statistician, University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Janis Baird - Professor of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Southampton
  • Dr Derrick Bennett - Associate Professor, University of Oxford
  • Dr Rachel Clark - Head of COVID-19 Rapid Evidence Service; UK Health Security Agency
  • Dr Charlotte Davies - Senior Research Associate, University of East Anglia
  • Professor Frank de Vocht - Professor in Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Bristol
  • Professor Matthew Egan - Professor, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Dr Karen Exley - Group Leader Air Quality and Public Health, UK Health Security Agency
  • Professor Julia Fox-Rushby - Professor of Health Economics, King's College London
  • Professor Emma Frew - Professor in Health Economics, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Judith Green - Professor of Sociology of Health, King’s College London
  • Professor Susan Griffin - Professor of Health Economics, University of York
  • Dr Ruth Hunter - Reader in Public Health, Queen's University of Belfast
  • Professor Vittal Katikireddi - Senior Clinical Research Fellow/Honorary Consultant, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Judi Kidger - Senior Lecturer, University of Bristol
  • Ms Emma Kinloch - Public member
  • Professor James Lewsey - Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Glasgow
  • Ms Tess McManus - Public Member
  • Professor Petra Meier - Professor of Public Health, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Paul Montgomery - Professor of Social Intervention, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Graham Moore - Professor of Social Sciences & Public Health, Cardiff University
  • Dr Madeleine Power, Research Fellow, University of York
  • Professor Sarah Rodgers - Professor of Health Informatics, University of Liverpool