Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

HSDR Funding Committee members


30 June 2022


4.0 June 2022


The HSDR Funding Committee assesses stage 1 and 2 proposals received through the commissioned and researcher-led workstreams. At stage one, the committee considers applications primarily for need and importance, and at stage two primarily for scientific quality and value for money. The committee is composed of experts from a range of disciplines relevant to health and social care delivery research, and public contributors.

Chair and Programme Director

  • Professor Kathy RowanDirector of Intensive Care National Audit and Research Centre (ICNARC) and Honorary Professor, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Deputy Chair

  • Professor Judith Smith - Professor of Health Policy and Management and Director of Health Services Management Centre, University of Birmingham


  • Dr Sarah Louise Alderson - NIHR Academic Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care, University of Leeds
  • Professor Parveen Ali - Professor of Nursing and Gender Based Violence, Division of Nursing and Midwifery, The University of Sheffield
  • Professor Kam Bhui - Professor of Psychiatry, University of Oxford and Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist, East London NHS Foundation Trust and Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Professor Debra Bick - Professor of Clinical Trials in Maternal Health, University of Warwick
  • Professor Annette Boaz - Honorary Professor of Health Care Research, Kingston University
  • Professor Laura Bojke - Professor of Health Economics, University of York
  • Dr Andrew Booth - Reader (Evidence Based Information Practice) School of Health & Related Research (ScHARR) University of Sheffield
  • Dr Stephen Bradley - General Practitioner & Clinical Research Fellow, University of Leeds
  • Professor Katherine Checkland - Professor of Health Policy and Primary Care, University of Manchester
  • Mrs Margaret Cheng - Public Contributor
  • Dr Brendan Collins - Head of Health Economics, Welsh Government (Secondment from Department of Public Health & Policy, University of Liverpool)
  • Ms Dawn Craig - Professor of Practice in Evidence Synthesis, Population Health Sciences Institute; Co-Director NIHR Innovation Observatory, Newcastle University
  • Professor Dawn Dowding - Professor in Clinical Decision Making, Division of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, School of Health Sciences, University of Manchester
  • Dr Sandra Duggan - Public Contributor
  • Dr Lorna Gibson - Deputy Director, NHSE-I Improvement
  • Professor Rebecca Harris - Professor of Dental Public Health, The University of Liverpool
  • Professor Jane Hopkinson - Professor of Nursing, Cardiff University
  • Ms Doreen Joseph - Public Contributor
  • Professor Mona Kanaan - Professor in Applied Health Research and Statistics, University of York
  • Mr Rashmi Kumar - Public Contributor
  • Dr Gerald McKenna - Clinical Reader / Consultant in Restorative Dentistry, Queen's University Belfast
  • Dr Rachel Meacock - Senior Lecturer Health Economics, The University of Manchester
  • Mr Michael Molete - Public Contributor
  • Professor Alicia O’Cathain - Professor of Health Services Research, University of Sheffield
  • Mrs Linda Parton - Public Contributor
  • Professor Andrew Price - Professor of Orthopaedics and Musculo-skeletal Science, University of Oxford & Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Mr James Rimmer - Chief Executive, NHS Somerset Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Professor Carol Rivas - Professor of Health and Social Care, UCL
  • Mr Alan Smith - Public Contributor
  • Mrs Victoria Tatton - Registered Practitioner (Social work), Adult Social Care and Health, Kent County Council
  • Professor Carl Thompson - Pro Dean: Applied Health Research, University of Leeds
  • Dr Victoria Tzortziou Brown - General Practitioner and CCG Lead in Integrated Care and Research, NHS Tower Hamlets Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Professor Fiona Verity - Professor of Social Work and Social Care, Swansea University
  • Professor Louise Wallace - Professor of Psychology & Health, The Open University
  • Dr Alan Watkins - Associate Professor (Statistics) Swansea University
  • Mrs Adele Webb - Public Contributor
  • Ms Charlotte Williams - Director of Strategy, Mid and South Essex NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Andrea Williamson - General Practitioner and Clinical Senior University Lecturer, General Practice and Primary Care, University of Glasgow