Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

EME Funding Committee Members


27 June 2019


1.8 May 2022


MRC-NIHR funding collaboration

The EME Funding Committee assesses stage 1 and stage 2 proposals and makes funding recommendations to the Department of Health and Social Care, and the Medical Research Council.

Director: Professor Danny McAuley - Professor of Intensive Care, Queen's University of Belfast

Chair: Professor John Norrie - Professor of Medical Statistics and Trial Methodology, University of Edinburgh


  • Professor Victoria Allgar - Professor of Medical Statistics and Director of Peninsula CTU, University of Plymouth
  • Professor Maya Buch - Professor of Rheumatology and Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist, The University of Manchester
  • Dr Tessa Cacciottolo - Clinical Research Fellow, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Janet Dunn - Professor of Clinical Trials & Head of Cancer Trials, University of Warwick
  • Professor Daniel Freeman - Professor of Clinical Psychology, University of Oxford
  • Professor Jonathan Grigg - Professor of Paediatric Respiratory and Environmental Medicine, Queen Mary University of London
  • Mrs Hayley Hall - Public Funding Committee Member
  • Professor Alastair Hay - Professor of Primary Care, University of Bristol
  • Professor Andrew Horne - Professor of Gynaecology and Reproductive Sciences, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor David Jones - Professor of Liver Immunology, University of Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Professor Patricia Limousin - Professor of Neurology, University College London
  • Professor Gregory Lip - Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Liverpool
  • Dr Ronan McMullan - Reader and Consultant Medical Microbiologist, Queen's University of Belfast
  • Dr Puja Mehta - EMINENT (MRC-GSK) Clinical Research Training Fellow in Respiratory Medicine, University College London
  • Professor Michael Nicholson - Professor of Transplant Surgery, University of Cambridge
  • Ms Nóirín O'Neill - Public Funding Committee Member
  • Professor John Petrie (Deputy Chair) - Professor of Diabetic Medicine, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Ruth Plummer - Professor of Experimental Cancer Medicine, Newcastle University
  • Professor Manu Shankar-Hari - Professor of Translational Critical Care Medicine, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor John Simpson - Professor of Respiratory Medicine, Newcastle University
  • Professor Deborah Stocken - Professor of Clinical Trials Research, University of Leeds
  • Professor Stuart Taylor - Professor of Medical Imaging, University College London
  • Professor Christopher Weir - Professor of Medical Statistics and Clinical Trials, University of Edinburgh