Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Membership of the Policy Research Programme funding committee


09 June 2019


Version 1.0 - June 2019


The Policy Research Programme recommends research proposals for funding through its core committee.

Committee chair

Professor Karen Bloor is chair of the Policy Research Programme funding committee.

Core committee members

Professor Kevin Brazil Queen's University Belfast Professor in Palliative Care
Professor Jennifer Whitty University of East Anglia Professor of Health Economics
Professor Catherine Law University College London Professor of Public Health and Epidemiology
Professor Ruth McDonald University of Manchester Professor of Health Science Research and Policy
Professor Sharon Simpson University of Glasgow Professor of Behavioural Sciences and Health
Professor Andrew Hill University of Leeds Professor of Medical Psychology
Professor Paul Aveyard University of Oxford Professor of Behavioural Medicine
Professor Stephen Sutton University of Cambridge Professor of Behavioural Science
Professor Mike Robling Cardiff University Director of Population Health Trials

Public committee members

 Mr Paul Andersen
 Mr Stephen Edgar
 Mrs Una Rennard
 Mr Nanik Pursani
Ms Amander Wellings
Mrs Gillian Bridgland
Dr Jim Fitzgibbon