Internet Explorer is no longer supported by Microsoft. To browse the NIHR site please use a modern, secure browser like Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Find your Academic Career Development Lead


15 October 2019


9 - March 2022


Applied Research Collaborations (ARCs)


Academic Career Development Lead


ARC East Midlands

Dr Emma Rowley

ARC East of England

Professor Eneida Mioshi

ARC Greater Manchester

Professor Michelle Briggs

ARC Kent Surrey and Sussex

Professor Sally Kendall

ARC North East and North Cumbria

Professor Gill Rowlands

ARC North Thames

Professor Angela Harden

ARC North West Coast

Alison McLoughlin

Colette Miller

ARC North West London

Dr Rowan Myron

ARC Oxford and the Thames Valley

Dr Katherine Tucker

ARC South London

Dr Kristie Coxon

ARC South West Peninsula

Professor Victoria Goodwin (MBE)

ARC Wessex

Professor Cathy Bowen

ARC West

Dr Julie Mytton

Abby Sabey

ARC West Midlands

Dr Sara Muller

ARC Yorkshire and Humber

Sam Debbage

Biomedical Research Centres (BRCs)


Academic Career Development Lead


Barts BRC

Professor Anthony Mathur

Birmingham BRC

Dr Patricia Lalor

Bristol BRC

Dr Natalie Blencowe

Cambridge BRC

Professor Mena Clatworthy

Great Ormond Street Hospital BRC

Dr Phillipa Mills

Guys and St Thomas BRC

Professor Rebecca Oakey

Imperial BRC

Leeds BRC

Dr Carole Burnett

Dr Sarah Mackie

Leicester BRC

Dr James King

Dr Rob Gregory

Manchester BRC

Professor Georgina Moulton

Maudsley BRC

Dr Rina Dutta

Moorfields BRC

Professor Phil Luthert

Newcastle BRC

Dr Alison Yarnall

Dr Ellen Tullo

Professor Andrew Fisher

Nottingham BRC

Dr David Humes

Oxford BRC

Professor Sarah Rowland-Jones

Dr Karen Bell

Oxford Health BRC

Professor Kate Saunders

Tamara Lewin

Royal Marsden and the Institute of Cancer Research BRC

Dr Naureen Starling

Sheffield BRC

Professor Oliver Bandmann

Southampton BRC

Kay Mitchell

University College London Hospitals BRC

Professor Daniel Davis

Health Protection Research Units (HPRUs)


Academic Career Development Lead


HPRU Behavioural Science and Evaluation

Dr Hannah Christensen

HPRU Blood Borne and Sexually Transmitted Infections

Professor Greta Rait

Dr Sema Mandal

HPRU Chemical Radiation Threats and Hazards

Dr Frédéric Piel

HPRU Emergency Preparedness and Response

Dr Iain Lake

HPRU Emerging and Zoonotic Infections

Dr Lance Turtle

HPRU Environmental Change and Health

Dr Shakoor Hajat

HPRU Environmental Exposure and Health (Imperial College London)

Dr Stephanie Wright

HPRU Environmental Exposure and Health (Leicester University)

Professor Mick Whelan

Dr Kaja Milczewska

HPRU Gastrointestinal Infections

Dr Helen Clough

HPRU Genomics and Enabling Data

Dr Marie Chattaway

HPRU Healthcare Associated Infections and Antimicrobial Resistance (Imperial College London)

Professor Shiranee Sriskandan

HPRU Healthcare Associated Infections and Antimicrobial Resistance (University of Oxford)

Professor Sarah Walker (non-clinical)

Professor Tim Peto (clinical)

HPRU Modelling and Health Economics

Professor Peter White

HPRU Respiratory Infections

Dr Joe Fenn 

HPRU Vaccines and Immunisation

Dr Tracey Chantler

Dr Helen McDonald

Patient Safety Translational Research Centres (PSTRCs)


Academic Career Development Lead


Imperial PSTRC

Dr Ana Neves

Greater Manchester PSTRC

Professor Roger Webb

Yorkshire and Humber PSTRC

Professor Jane O'Hara


NIHR Schools


Academic Career Development Lead


School for Primary Care Research

Professor Hazel Everitt

Professor Steph Taylor

School for Public Health Research

Professor Rona Campbell

School for Social Care Research

Professor Catherine Robinson